The Double Life of Elle

The Secret Confessions of an Extra Lusty Broad in a Stick Figure World.

Relax this! February 25, 2009

Filed under: exercise — thedoublelifeofelle @ 11:28 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Today, being Ash Wednesday, marks the very first day of Lent.  And if you’ve been following along, you know that for the next 40 days, I will be sacrificing laziness and making the time to exercise everyday.  This morning I woke up fairly early and did yoga. 

And you know what I realized today, Lusties?  I flippin’ hate yoga.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the flexibility I felt afterwards, but I absolutely cannot focus on my “breathing” and I cannot tap into my “feminine energy.”  When I workout, I like to sweat, swear, grimace and groan to loud thumping music.  I need to drown out the chaotic “chatter” that fills my thoughts.  No, I don’t suffer from multiple personalities, but my mind is always very busy.  I’m a worrier, a planner, an analyzer, a dweller.  And when I hear New Age music and a quiet, lilting voice telling me to “concentrate on the sound of my own breath,” I can’t just give in to the stillness.  While doing the poses this morning, I was thinking about writing this post, what I was going to eat for lunch, what bills I need to pay when I get paid tomorrow…the list goes on and on.  

Instead of quieting my mind, I let it run higgledy-piggledy.  And although I didn’t feel “relaxed” at the end of my yoga workout, I did feel like I had a jump-start on the day ahead of me.  The stretching was great too, but next time, I think I will forgoe the lilting voice and listen to my own music.  It’s a good thing my fancy-schmancy new red iPod was delivered via Fed-Ex today! 

Weigh-in is tomorrow and I have a feeling this is my week to gain.  I haven’t been planning my meals the way I should this week, plus I had that bout with convenience food.  BUT my jeans are so loose in the ass/thighs that I think I may need to go down a size.  I wasn’t expecting to notice any difference this soon but I am, of course, thrilled.

Anway, it’s way too late for me to be blogging.  I will see you all at a decent hour on Friday.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

 

Leave a Reply

