The Double Life of Elle

The Secret Confessions of an Extra Lusty Broad in a Stick Figure World.

yeah, i can! January 21, 2009

Filed under: cha-cha-cha-changes — thedoublelifeofelle @ 11:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

It seems that 2009 is the year for change, both on the global scale and the bathroom scale.  I have been a little dewy-eyed since MLK Day and it culminated in an all out sob-fest yesterday.  Unfortunately, I was working  and was unable to watch President Barack Obama being sworn in, but naturally, I watched it on YouTube when I got home (such a sign of the times!).  He gave his speech on my laptop while I chopped garlic and shallots.  I sauteed as he spoke of sacrifice and wept to see the masses covering the mall as the Civil Rights movement came full circle.  Regardless of your politics, history was made yesterday, and people of all colors, creeds, and ages are coming together like never before.

It may sound a little corny, but this past election year, and Obama’s campaign in particular, has shaken a lot of the cynicism from my nature.  The world seems brand new and the future seems brighter.  The phrase I’ve heard over and over since November 4, 2008 is “anything is possible.” 

Okay, this isn’t meant to be a political post.  I’m just sharing with you how this historic event has injected some positivity into my usually pessimistic attitude.  And with Weigh-In day being tomorrow, I need to keep my mind in the positive realm. 

Not only was Tuesday filled with media coverage of Inauguration Day, it was also Biggest Loser night!  The contestants on this show (all the seasons, not just this one) have cajones of STEEL!  Showing all your fat rolls on national television, working out and throwing up, and let’s not forget:  being WEIGHED on a huge scale for the world to see!  This show sounds just like my worst nightmare, except the contestants are clothed and they aren’t walking into the lunch room of my old high school.

The candidness of the contestants has given me a little push to post some pictures of myself on this little blog (while still cleverly disguising my identity).  Plus I think that making a record of my progress will give me something to look back on during those less positive moods that I am SURE will catch up with me.  Hopefully I can whip up something over the next week or two, so keep an eye out.

I will be weighing in tomorrow and posting my results on Friday.  And I would just like to say thanks to those of you who gave me comment love.  I really appreciate it, and I enjoy reading your blogs!

 

Leave a Reply

