The Double Life of Elle

The Secret Confessions of an Extra Lusty Broad in a Stick Figure World.

Great Expectations January 14, 2009

Filed under: The Plan — thedoublelifeofelle @ 12:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

I bought a brand new scale today.  A fancy-schmancy one.  I had planned on not using it until D-Day (Jan. 15), but once I had it out of the box and fitted with new batteries I, of course, stepped on it.  Honestly, I wasn’t completely disappointed with the number.  I wouldn’t say I was thrilled to pieces, but I had been expecting worse.  Basically, I haven’t gained since my last failed attempt at dieting last spring.  That small victory has actually given me a teeny tiny bit of happiness…an extra 20-30lbs that I don’t have to lose.  I will post my stats Thursday after my first official weigh-in. 

My weight loss plan includes using Weight Watchers Online.  I once tried going to the meetings the year I got married and I lost about 15lbs.  But I didn’t go for very long.  I stopped going mostly because the meetings were excruciating.  I was paying nearly $50 a month to stand in line for an hour, get weighed, and listen to people bitch and moan about “falling off the wagon” and eating gallon tubs of ice cream and boxes and boxes of devil dogs.  The only meeting times I could make were ones that were overflowing and everyone had something to say and the leader barely got a chance to speak.  The meetings work for some, but they just ain’t my bag.  WWonline is way more affordable and I can log on 24/7 to find support, inspiration, recipes, points values, etc instead of waiting for the weekly “cattle drive.”  Maybe the money I’m saving on WW membership can be put toward a gym membership in the near future. 

This time around, I want to focus on eliminating most of the processed junk from my diet.  It’s going to take extra effort on my part and quite a bit of meal planning, but this is me changing my lifestyle not just me going on a “diet.”  And I love food…I mean I looooooove food.  I’ve never met a vegetable I didn’t like.  I love fresh fruit, whole grain bread, brown rice.   I was a vegetarian for 10 years.   But the problem is, I love junk food too and I have zero portion control.  And going on a “diet” and eating most of my meals out of a box stamped with the “low fat” label isn’t going to cut it with me.  All of that processed shit stacked on the shelves in every grocery store is not going to help me achieve a healthy lifestyle no matter how low fat/low calorie/low in points it is.  I’m 28 years old and what I do now is an investment into the quality of life I will have when I’m much older—good or bad.

I don’t expect to come out of the other side of this with a brand new wardrobe full of size 4 clothes.  I’m a tall broad with a fairly large frame.  I want to be healthy and within my healthy weight range (about 126-167lbs).  I know I’m probably never going to weigh 126lbs but I’m shooting for at least the top of the range. 

I really think I can do this.  My expectations aren’t unreasonable, but I am expecting great things from myself.

 

One Response to “Great Expectations”

  1. Joe Average Says:

    Yeah, get a handle on it now. I’m over 40 and could kick myself for wasting all those years waddling around unnecessarily. But that’s where my mind was, and I can’t turn back time. At least I chose to fix the weight problem now and not twenty more years later. ;)

    Stick to the basics and keep your mind focused on the next small goal. If I can do it, anybody can!

    Keep everybody posted.


Leave a Reply

